lynsey loves food

Happy Birthday lynseylovesfood + chocolate shell recipe

Recipe Card Icon

I love me a good celebration, and today is no exception. lynseylovesfood turns 2 years old today and I couldn’t be more excited to party!!! When I started writing this blog it was a bit of a different animal than it is today, I struggled with trying to find my voice, and didn’t have the confidence to say what I very much wanted to.

Courage finally did knock on my door and I hit “publish” on an article that was easy to write but hard to share, as it pulled back the curtain on my crazy, and the struggles I had been through as I found my way to health. Exposed and vulnerable, the message I put out to the world was not only met with love and kind words, but the overwhelming feedback that I was not alone.

They say when you risk big, you win big, and for me this couldn’t be more true. That article was a turning point, and helped shaped my mission of not only what this blog is about, but who I am in the bigger picture. I will first and foremost, always be a cheerleader for health, I will encourage you to eat food that is good and real, and educate you on the impact that it has on your body. I will challenge you to shake s*&t up, be your own person and reconnect back to what is going on inside you; some days you need a cookie and some days you don’t -that doesn’t make you a bad person.

There is an art and science to everything in life. The hard facts about how something works and the softer finesse that brings it to life; food my friends, is no exception. Yes it nourishes us with the macro and micro nutrients that our physical bodies need, but it also provides the cultural and emotional attributes that bring us joy and make us feel good. Is that a green light for unabashed gluttony? No. But it is permission to challenge what someone else tells you is right for your body, eat what you love, and trust the person who knows you best – you.

As I move forward with achieving my goal, I thought I would share the rules I live by – it keeps me honest, as well as focused. Thank you to everyone who has followed me on this journey; inspired me, motivated me, and taught me a thing or two about nutrition, cooking, photography and writing along the way.

lynseylovesfoodmantra

Before I sign off I though I would share a recipe that is a nod to my childhood. A time of innocence where you didn’t sweat the small stuff and ice cream for dinner seemed like a pretty good idea.

love food and it will love you back.

xo,

lynsey

chocolateshelldiptych

Chocolate Shell Recipe

4 x squares semi-sweet Baker’s chocolate (or equivalent of your fav!)

1½ x Tbsp coconut oil

1 x tsp vanilla extract

1 x pinch of salt

Directions

  1. Using a double boiler, gently melt chocolate
  2. Add coconut oil and stir until smooth
  3. Remove from heat, stir in vanilla and salt
  4. Drizzle over ice cream or save in mason jar until future use
One comment

Leave a Reply

